The NZIOB National Board is comprised of up to nine members who meet every two months. There are six Board Members who are appointed via a biennial election process. The nominated/elected members are: Chair, up to 3 x Regional Representatives, and up to 3 x Membership Representatives.

In addition, the National Board can co-opt two Board Members to fill any gaps that may be identified in the Board make-up. The co-opted Board Members can be drawn from both the NZIOB membership, and (if required) from the wider building industry.

The National Board term is for two-years, with the current Board term expiring in August 2020.


Graeme Birkhead image

Graeme Birkhead



Director, Graeme Birkhead Consulting

LinkedIn Profile

Sonia Barker image

Sonia Barker

Deputy Chair & Board Member (Membership Rep)


Consultant, Proform Group

LinkedIn Profile 

Matt McGuinness image

Matt McGuinness

Board Member (Membership Rep) & NR Committee Chair


Auckland Manager, LT McGuinness

Company Bio

Graeme Earl image

Graeme Earl

Board Member (Southern Rep) & SR Committee Chair


Director, Naylor Love Canterbury

LinkedIn Profile

Company Bio

Nigel Dong  image

Nigel Dong

Board Member (Central Rep)


Managing Director, Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

LinkedIn Profile

Hayley Groves image

Hayley Groves

Board Member (Membership Rep)


Director, Tripro

LinkedIn Profile

Andrew Field image

Andrew Field

Board Member (Co-opted)

Manager, Asset & Digital Advisory, Beca

LinkedIn Profile

Adam Baxter image

Adam Baxter

Young Professional Advisor - National Chair

NZIOB Student Member

Foreman, LM Built

LinkedIn Profile

Industry Affiliations


Associate Member