National AGM

News from the


The 36th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the NZIOB occurred on Thursday the 22nd of August in Auckland. The event marked the Institute’s final AGM under the Chapter/President structure. This milestone was marked with the attendance of 45 members for the general meeting component of the evening’s programme – a record turnout for an NZIOB AGM.
To mark the occasion, the NZIOB invited its Past Presidents to both the AGM and to a post-AGM dinner with the outgoing NZIOB Council, along with the President and CEO of the Australian Institute of Building. It was gratifying to see twelve Past Presidents in attendance: seven from Northern Chapter, three from Central Chapter, and two from Southern Chapter.
One of the Past Presidents played a role at the AGM. President No. 2 (1985–1987), Warwick Angus, presented two awards under General Business. The recipients were Ian Marshall, Northern Chapter Appreciation Award, and Graeme Birkhead, award of Fellow. It was announced that a second award of Fellow had been made by the 2018-2019 NZIOB Council, that being to Dennis Burns of Central Chapter.
Following the AGM, non-members joined members for the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) component of the function, a presentation from Panuku’s Project Development Director – Waterfront, Katelyn Orton. It was a particularly good CPD event, contributing to a stand-out evening for the NZIOB, and one that elegantly drew the era of Chapters and Presidents to a close. Members heard that that the Institute is in good shape, which will allow the incoming National Board and Chair to leverage off 36 years of history and take the NZIOB forward under the new governance structure.
The 2019 AGM minutes can be viewed here.

Thank you to all our sponsors for their generous support

National Partner

National Sponsors

Industry Affiliations



Associate Member