NZIOB/NorthTec Student Awards 2020

News from the


On Thursday, 26 November, the NZIOB Northland Student Awards evening was held at the NorthTec Apprentice Restaurant in Whangarei. This 18th edition of the annual student awards programme represents a close collaboration between the NZIOB and Northtec, at which the polytechnic’s top construction students are recognised. For 2020, just shy of 100 people were in attendance, with canapés and drinks prepared and served by NorthTec’s hospitality students. 

For the first time ever, eight awards were presented over seven categories, with two recipients sharing the top award in one of the categories. And in another first, three female students were among the winners, breaking the pattern of males who to now, have traditionally taken home the prizes. 

Damian Thomson of Griffiths & Associates kept the evening rolling as MC, with the support of Leanne Attwood and Nerida Hawkins. Guest speaker, Matt McGuinness of LT McGuinness, provided a thought-provoking presentation on procurement and a sustainable approach to market education of the full supply chain. 

The students recognised at the 2020 NZIOB/NorthTec Student awards were: 

  • Construction Level 3 Award: Holly Jensen and Johnathon Manukau
  • Construction Level 4 Award: Aiden Inia-Sade
  • Painting Award: Raukawa Michael
  • Electrical Engineering Award: Anake Moanaroa-Leismann
  • Civil Engineering Award: Tim Goodwin
  • Architectural Technology Award: Alyshia Foster
  • Project Management Award: Nithin Joseph 

The event was very generously sponsored by the following organisations: Active Electrical Suppliers, Altherm Aluminium, Apex Roof ‘N’ Clad, Autex, Building & Fire Services, Elevate Accounting Specialties, Griffiths & Associates, Hawthorn Geddes, ITM, McKay Electrical, NorthTec, NZIOB, Robinson Asphalts, Rosenfeld Kidson, Steve Bowling Contracting, World of Décor, Wynn Frazer